Wondering where you can and can't fly your drone in New Zealand?

Low Flying Zones

UAVs are not permitted to fly in any Low Flying Zones, which are coloured orange.
Military Operating Areas

Permission from the administering authority is requested to fly in the green zones.

The blue circle areas indicate a 4km radius around aerodromes.
Other Authorities' Areas

These areas require you to gain approval before you fly from the administrating authority or landowner.
Control Zones

Control Zones are managed by Air Traffic Control and extend down to ground level.
No Fly Zones
Areas are where you are unlikely to receive approval from the administrating authority or landowner.


Download AirShare for Android    Download AirShare for iOS

  • Key to popups on Military and Restricted Areas:
      SFC = Surface
      FL660 = Flight Level 66,000FT
      NOTAM - Notices to Airman (see glossary for further info)
  • These maps are intended to depict published aerodromes, aerodrome control zones, Low Flying Zones, Military Operating Areas and Restricted Areas only. Upper-level controlled airspace is not depicted which is above 400 feet outside a control zone. There are other types of special use airspace areas such as Danger Areas, which are permanent and also temporary notified via Notices to Airmen (NOTAM). Refer to the AIP for more information under the Permanent and Temporary Airspace links.
  • You can purchase Visual Navigation Charts which depict other types of airspace here

Important: The information provided by AirShare is provided for information purposes only and is not to be relied on as a substitute for a comprehensive knowledge of the relevant laws (including all rules, regulations, and by-laws (including the Civil Aviation Rules) that apply to the operation of UAVs. It is your responsibility to read and understand all such laws and operate any UAVs in accordance with them.  Terms & Conditions.